And Now for Something Completely Different…My Updated Workout Routine

*DISCLAIMER* I am not a professional trainer or athlete or anything of the sort. I’m just a regular person trying to be healthy. If you read anything in the post that is inaccurate/misleading/etc, PLEASE let me know and I will correct it ASAP!

“And now for something completely different…” – John Cleese, Monty Python

This series of blog posts is for posts that don’t really match the rest of my blog (i.e. they aren’t related to writing, reading, steampunk, etc) but that I wanted to post anyway. In this edition, I’ll be discussing my updated workout routine. If you’re interested, you can read about my previous workout routine here.

 

A while back, I joined a gym and developed an effective-yet-time-efficient workout routine. However, as the seasons changed and being outside actually became pleasant, I decided I didn’t want to work out in a dank and smelly gym. I wanted to be outside!

Fortunately, I recently moved into a more quiet suburb, with lots of trees and sidewalks that are in good shape. So, I started to jog outside instead of on the treadmill. I currently walk/jog about a 1 mile loop in the neighborhood. I’m measuring my progress, and once I get comfortable with that loop I’ll start to extend it to a longer one.

After I’m done with my jog, I do a workout at home. I’ve found a useful app called Home Workouts which has a database of exercises that only require your own body weight or hand weights. You can search by muscle groups and build your own routine. With the help of this app, I’m able to work on building muscles at home, too!

Then, as I did in my old workout routine, I stretch. The total workout time is about the same as my gym routine was (about 45 minutes).

Do you see something in my gym routine that could be improved? I’m open to suggestions! I would love to hear your gym (or other workout) routines, and any tips and tricks you have to offer!

Leave a Reply

