NaNoWriMo 2016 Summary

Well, November has come and gone, and National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) has come to an end.

I did not reach the goal of 50,000 words, but I still made a good effort and ended with 40,176 words.

nano2016

I got hit with pretty severe writers block right as Thanksgiving arrived. Between traveling, spending time with family and friends, and binge-watching Gilmore Girls: A Year in the Life, I didn’t have time to properly work around that block. I was able to recover a bit at a local write-in that word-sprinted to midnight on the 30th, but still fell short of 50k.

That doesn’t mean my NaNoWriMo journey this year wasn’t a success. I feel much more confident about my story than I had on November 1st. Characters have become better-developed, the plot is more filled-in, and I’m actually excited about the sequel to Grigory’s Gadget now. (For a while there, I berated myself for setting up a sequel. Why did I do that to myself? WHY?)

So now I’m neatening-up what I did write during November, and will be posting the new scenes on Wattpad shortly.

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2016 Summary

  1. I’ve never done NaNoWriMo though I’m familiar with the thing; a few of my writing friends are regular NaNos. I’m curious about how many words and in what quality you were able to put out this November. I have a book in the works – a sequel to my first (The Obeahman’s Dagger) and am trying to set into position for a sustained burst of writing.
    I never intended to do a sequel. I think that I’m motivated by a desire to make the thing better – that may be misguided I know. But …

    Like

    1. This year, I wound up writing just over 40,000 words in November, though I have written over 50,000 in NaNoWriMos past. The draft I wind up with each year is a very rough draft. It needs lots of editing and love, lol. But, the point of NaNoWriMo is just to get words flowing. I find it helps me move along my stories, as I usually get caught up in and endless loop of write-edit-write a little bit-edit a lot-edit-edit-edit-edit…….and never have a finished story 😉 Good luck with your sequel!

      Like

Leave a Reply

