Traveling West for Inspiration!

Okay, actually, I’m traveling to visit my bf, but inspiration for Serafima’s Stone is a bonus!

Specifically, I’m traveling to Albuquerque, New Mexico. If you’ve read Grigory’s Gadget, you may be wondering, How the heck will Albuquerque be inspirational?? Well, if you keep up with my blog and/or newsletter, you know that a good portion of Serafima’s Stone takes place in a fantastical Old West setting. The desert setting should help give my muse the kick-in-the-pants it needs lately.

The main source of writing inspiration I’m looking forward to is a trip to Monument Valley, which lies around the border of Utah and Arizona. You may recognize the valley from Every Western Scene Ever Filmed Ever.

The Searchers
The Searchers (1956)
Vacation
National Lampoon’s Vacation (1983)
Back to the Future III
Back to the Future III (1990)

You get the gist.

I’m finally starting to get over the horrible writers block I’ve been suffering from (well, now I’ve jinxed it!) and I think heading out west will help keep the momentum going.

Leave a Reply

