Grigory’s Gadget Book Launch in Review

Last Saturday (March 12) was the Launch for Grigory’s Gadget – Book 1 of the Gaslight Frontier Series! It was held at Mermaid & Weasel in Buffalo, NY, and it was a great success! I actually sold out of my books (oops!), but more on that below.

2016-03-12 14.51.41

Along with my book, I also sold my homemade Grigory’s Gadget candles (in the scent Mulled Cider and Chestnuts…mmmmm…) and my custom-blended Grigory’s Gadget teas from Adagio.
2016-03-12 13.32.32

I wound up doing two readings: one of the opening scene of the book, and one of the scene where my characters are first abducted by pirates!

2016-03-12 15.18.49

And, yes, I sold out of books. On the one hand, that’s great! On the other hand, I wouldn’t have sold out so quickly if 12% of the books I had ordered from IngramSpark didn’t have cover defects. 5 of the 50 books I had ordered were not cut properly, and so had a white line along the edge. A 6th book looked like it had been run over by a car: there were large black streaks across the cover!

I filed a claims with IngramSpark about these books, but did not hear back from them until after my Launch event. They will be replacing those 6 books, and I don’t have to return the defects (I’ll be selling those at a discount). It would have been nice to know that before Launch day…

2016-03-12 13.29.19

If you’re interested in grabbing a copy of Grigory’s Gadget, it’s available in paperback form from my eStore, Amazon, and Barnes & Noble, and in eBook form on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Kobo, Smashwords, and iTunes.

Check out these reviews of Grigory’s Gadget:

I also did an interview with the Steampunk Cavaliers HERE.

One thought on “Grigory’s Gadget Book Launch in Review

  1. Liz, I am thinking of all the amazing things that you have learned along the way in regards to book writing, finding companies to print, design, price, order, etc. . I know that this wealth of knowledge will serve you well in the future and things will go ten times smoother for you. However, you succeeded in a brilliant and successful first journey into the book writers world and I know it was a phenomenal adventure. Hat’s off to you – our family traveler into the world of Steam Punk Adventures……I am tremendously proud of you. ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

