Steampunk Hands Around the World 2016 – My Favorite Things: Gail Carriger’s Novels

Welcome to my fourth and final contribution to Steampunk Hands Around the World 2016 – My Favorite Things! If you’re not familiar, Steampunk Hands is a month-long blogathon in February when steampunks from all over the world come together to talk about the genre. This year’s theme is My Favorite Things. CLICK HERE for the master list of all the blog posts!

For my fourth Favorite Thing, I’d like to talk about Gail Carriger’s novels. Gail Carriger currently has three steampunk series: The Finishing School Series, The Parasol Protectorate Series, and The Custard Protocol Series. All three series take place in the same universe, an alternate Victorian era (primarily in London, England) where humans, vampires, werewolves, and ghosts live together in (somewhat relative) harmony. She also has some short stories, which I believe also take place in the same universe.

So far, I’ve read all of the Parasol Protectorate books. I plowed through those novels! Every character is charming and funny in their own amazing way, and after reading A Song of Ice and Fire (the books that are currently published, anyway) by George R.R. Martin, it was a real relief to read this upbeat and witty series. The main plot of each book was a bit predictable in my opinion, but I didn’t mind at all. It felt more like the plot enabled the characters to interact in increasingly interesting ways, and that was the point. I also might be harping too much on a book with a more predictable plot since I had, as I mentioned above, just finished reading A Song of Ice and Fire.

The Finishing School Series (which takes place before The Parasol Protectorate) and The Custard Protocol Series (which takes place after The Parasol Protectorate) are both on my To-Read list now.

One thought on “Steampunk Hands Around the World 2016 – My Favorite Things: Gail Carriger’s Novels

Leave a Reply

