Steampunk Hands Around the World 2016 – My Favorite Things: Howl’s Moving Castle

Welcome to my second contribution to Steampunk Hands Around the World 2016 – My Favorite Things! If you’re not familiar, Steampunk Hands is a month-long blogathon in February when steampunks from all over the world come together to talk about the genre. This year’s theme is My Favorite Things. CLICK HERE for the master list of all the blog posts!

For my second Favorite Thing, I’d like to talk about Howl’s Moving Castle. The movie, by Hayao Miyazaki, was one of my first experiences with the steampunk genre (also my first exposure to Miyazaki films). I remember going to see it at The Spectrum, an independent movie theater in Albany, NY, and absolutely loving it. It didn’t take long before I read the book, by Diana Wynne Jones, that the movie was based on. I highly recommend both!

Both the movie and book follow Sophie, a hat maker with little self-confidence who is cursed by the Witch of the Waste to appear as an old woman. She finds herself swept up into a walking castle owned by the wizard Howl, whom she discovers is suffering from his own curse. The story has a lot of fun allusions to other literature and stories, including the Wizard of Oz, Beauty and the Beast, Baba Yaga, and Lord of the Rings.

Hm…I think I’ll go watch it now…

One thought on “Steampunk Hands Around the World 2016 – My Favorite Things: Howl’s Moving Castle

Leave a Reply

